ProWatch

Overwatch or Sniperwatch? Bob! Bastion! B*stards! Season 14 Struggles!

Like, Ana; I was Shrike. Now, I am, Bastet!


Forged With New Resolve; Ana’s Not Taking Any More Shit!

First of all, let me say, albeit late, a Happy New Year to each and every one of you! I hope you all had an amazing Christmas and New Year; full of food, drink, laughter and all kinds of nerdy goodness! I know I did! Hopefully 2019 treats you all well!

Back on topic – Overwatch. The last few seasons of competitive have been quite frustrating as an Ana main. Some of the problems may be because I play on PS4, who knows?

Now, I know people could say that, I, myself an the problem. Maybe I’m not accurate? Maybe I can’t pump out enough heals? Ana just isn’t as good as Mercy or Moira?! No – Ana, is ridiculous! And in the best way possible. High risk/skill, low reward? Utterly absurd. High risk/skill, high reward! Ana, when played enough, with good mechanics, game sense etc.. can be absolutely game-changing!

Stats From My Own 1st Placement Game – Season 14. Ana, solo-heal (Until Round 4).

So, there you go. They are legitimately my stats from my 1st Placement Game this season, up there for you to judge. Though lets really think about them – keeping in mind that I am currently GOLD Rank! Or, I was last season. [I have been in Plat though].

  • Healing (Ana’s main role): 22,178! That’s right, 22k! – Now, you can go straight to YouTube and search, “Ana healing” and you’ll be met with various videos from the two best Ana’s in NA – GaleAdelade and mL7, with results for things like, “T500 21k healing!” etc.. So, I’ve achieved the same level of healing as T500 PC players? If 20k+ is good enough for them, it’s good enough for me.
  • Accuracy: Unscoped [Projectile]: 62% Scoped [Hitscan]: 67% – Using a controller. Jeez, I dare to think what I’d be like with M&K… My point being, everyone knows that accuracy is vital to Ana; if you can’t hit anything, then playing Ana is not going to help your team, but I think this proves I have, for a controller, very good accuracy. Take the two players mentioned earlier; Gale and mL7 – according to Overbuff (though I have no idea how accurate it is, they have accuracy of 59% (ml7) and 64% (Gale) – so again, I’d say I’m doing well.
  • Deaths could do with improving on, and damage too, but I’ll give myself the benefit of the doubt here because I was solo healing on Eichenwalde.

Let’s Talk About The Game Specifically…

Take A Seat. It’s Time For Some Critical Thinking…

Round 1: Prepare To Attack! – Okay, so first round we were attacking. We had Myself (Ana), Reinhardt, D.Va, Reaper, McCree and I believe, Roadhog. Not much to say here; pushing under the bridge for first point, we all gained ult charge quickly. Reaper dealt with Tanks, D.Va chased down low health targets, McCree dished damage, and with a Rein charge, followed by a Nano-shatter, we all swarmed the point, big nade heals, we capped it. From there it was very snowball, and we took the first round 3 – 0 with 2 minutes spare. A great start.

Round 2: Prepare Your Defences! – Team comp stayed very much the same, except, instead of Hog, we had Orisa – no complaints here. We held the first point incredibly well. The attacking team had around 1 minute or so to go, they make some good plays and swap to the Pharmercy – being the only hitscan and healer here was a slog. They took the point with around 30 seconds to go, and proceeded to also get a 3 – 3. Though our defence on the bridge by the doors was quite remarkable.

By this point, the game started to swing wildly, both teams had a disconnected player and so it became 5 v 5. We lost a DPS and I remained solo-healer.

Round 3: Defending – A valiant effort from my team again, we held it fairly well, but lost the first point. After an even better effort, we stopped the cart not far past the doors, no where near second point on the bridge. The enemy Phara was too high in the air to contest and despite dropping, they were seconds too late and we took the round well. It was by this point, I was around 20k heals.

Round 4: Attacking – One of our Tanks made a great call and swapped to Moira to help spread the heals for this. The problem Pharmercy still persisted, and bombing the point from over the wall was a problem. I even took a dumb dynamite to the face (though I survived), I still should have noticed it by my feet. Anyway, we managed to take first point and I managed to shoot the Phara out the sky, all seemed good. We got round the point and opened the doors to a resurrected Phara, and Ashe bombs. Ultimately, Bob pushed everyone off the cart – I tried to sleep him, but something booped him or me and I missed – and we conceded defeat.

Now, I can’t be angry with any of my team, that was one of the best, if not the best match I’ve had in competitive in a long time. Why do I think we lost? Honestly, long-range DPS – we had non, except for me, and a Moira orb. I do believe, if we had a Soldier for the last point, to help with Pharmercy, we could have took it. There were also no comms in this match which would have helped. Never the less, it was still an exceptional match.

I do have most of that game (except the first round) recorded. I may send that and another of my games, where I believe, I don’t pay anywhere near Gold level into Until Lost and/or Jayne to see what they say, because I’d be highly interested.

In the meantime, I would love to hear your thoughts on this, and what problems you think you face when playing Overwatch Competitive.

Until Next Time. Keep up the good grind, and always strive for improvement. Thanks for reading! 😀

Leave a comment