More Potter?

Positively. Practically. Potty – for Potter!

Harry Potter and My Real Obsession For It


As I’m sure you’ve no wonder guessed from the very subtle hints within the title and such, you will have undoubtedly figured out that I love, Harry Potter – like, I really do – like so many other millions of people. This is going to be a long read – well, not too long, but I’m sure if you’re a Potterhead, you really won’t mind that, am I right?

Go On, Give Yourself A Little Magic While You Read.

I, like, many, many others, literally grew up with, Harry Potter. I had already started reading the books and by the time, “Harry Potter and The Philosopher’s Stone” became a film, I was the same age as Harry. Jeez, that was a while ago! But I definitely believe it was growing up alongside of the books and films is what cemented my love for this entire franchise – this entire world. Sadly, I cannot speak for the people that read the books or watched the films after they were completed, or even for the people much older than the characters when they were made/published/released – but I can say that it was most likely due to the mutual understanding and love for the literal magic that it encapsulates you in. And, I still can’t get enough of it.

The following covers are the covers that grace the original copies of the books that I own; except, like the battered Advanced Potion Making book that belongs to the Half-Blood Prince, my copy of The Half-Blood Prince, is actually missing it’s cover, due to a horrible accident awfully disfiguring it. It is now just the solid, black book, with the title written in gold, on the spine. But, I think it almost has more character to it, given that part of the plot of this book also revolves around a book that’s in pretty bad shape. Don’t worry though, the contents of the book still remain in perfect condition! – Phew!

Speaking of Interesting covers; my copy of The Philosopher’s Stone, is the original. It doesn’t feature, Dumbledore on the back; it’s unfortunately not a 1st Edition, but fairly close!

Fan’s speculated that it may have been a youthful Dumbledore, thought the real answer is nothing quite of the sort. The illustrator said that he was simply asked to, ‘provide a wizard’ to decorate the cover. He goes on further to say, 
“So that’s the answer. The first wizard wasn’t anyone in particular. Except… except he was, actually. He was based on none other than my own wonderful, magical father. Yes, my somewhat eccentric, embroidered skullcap-wearing dad is the wizard on the back of Harry Potter.” 

So, what was it that about, Harry Potter, that hooked me so? Don’t get me wrong, I’m also a huge fan of books like, “The Lord of the Rings” or “Dragonlance”; anything that features, magic, fantasy, grand adventure; I’m a sucker for, but, Harry Potter was different. It was based in the real world, right here in the UK, in London, not too far from myself, and Hogwarts itself being in the Scottish Highlands. Not to mention the magic is magical! I love the deep, deep, rich lore of the world, the places, the characters, the creatures! Quidditch! Who doesn’t love Quidditch?! All of this made the whole story feel far more real, far more accessible, like it could be happening, like I could be a part of it – even if Hogwarts did forget to send me my letter! – Looking at you, McGonagall! 

Aside from owning the books, (and various other books related to Harry Potter), and the films, I’m also a big lover of collecting the merch of all kinds, clothing to represent my house, to odd little knick-knacks, like a Golden Snitch on a little stand, that sits happily next to the TV  – Seeker is definitely my favourite Quidditch position – but it’s the wands that I have the most of. I don’t collect all of the wands, but really, only for the characters that I particularly like, or if I like the general look of the wand. The wands that I currently own are:

  • Remus Lupin
  • Severus Snape
  • The Elder Wand
  • Hermione Granger & Ron Weasley – (I put these together because I actually bought these from a shop on holiday not long after “The Prisoner of Azkaban” was released, when The Nobel Collection first ever started making the wands!)
  • Cedric Diggory
  • Alastor “Mad-Eye” Moody – I really, really, really wish I were able to get the original wand made that’s featured in “The Goblet of Fire”; it’s far, far better than the chunky one they sell now.
  • Nymphadora Tonks
  • Newt Scamander
  • Albus Dumbledore

The next wand that I will be adding when I get the chance will be Horace Slughorn’s. (I really wand his hourglass too!). My girlfriend also has the wands of, Queenie Goldstein and Luna Lovegood’s first, original DA wand. You know what a dream item would be? A Firebolt – I would goddamn love to have a Firebolt, mounted to the wall, looking utterly badass! 

I’m going to have to leave it there for now, because I really could ramble on all night and day about, Harry Potter, and there’s just too much I want to talk about in dedicated articles later on, so I’m going to save the rest of my excitement for that! 

Anyways, do get in touch; I would love to know what you love about Harry Potter and why? What merch do you collect or want? Let me know, let me know!

Until Next Time, grab your brooms a fly away with a smile on your face – just don’t forget to come back! I’m, TticTak. Thanks for reading! 😀

Leave a comment